New Delhi, 22 July 2016: National Working Committee meeting of Social Democratic Party of India was conducted on 19th July 2016 at Bangalore. The meeting started with an inaugural address by the national president A. Sayeed. President A. Sayeed during his opening address paid tribute to Vice President late Samkutty Jacob and remembered his contribution to the party and society. During his address he said that the secularism and democracy of our country is under threat as the minorities and Dalits are living in a state of fear and insecurity. Politics of hate by the BJP government pushed this nation into distress. Recent examples of Uttarakhand and Arunachal Pradesh indicates that the central government is stooped to such a low that it dispels the elected governments by means of horse trading and bullying the mandates.

The meeting discussed current situation in India and observed that hate speeches, atrocities on Dalits Muslims and other deprived communities, false allegations on Muslims and labelling them as terrorists and tethering the freedom of human rights activists are going on in the country without any hindrances for polarizing communal votes. There is no curb by the central government on these treacherous acts. Instead, the central government is weaving conspiracies to suppress the people and organizations who are raising voice against its anti-people policies. The meeting decided to conduct constructive nationwide programs to create awareness among the people to unite them and legally fight against the anti-people and anti-secular policies of the government.

The meeting has passed a resolution condemning the ongoing conspiracy and campaign of falsely implicating anti-national allegations on Muslims in the country and against the irresponsible statement given by the CM of Kerala in the assembly.

The NWC decided to conduct nationwide Membership Campaign of the party from August 15 to Sept 15. Various programs like get together, conventions, poster and distribution of handbills, etc will be part of the campaign.

Vice Presidents Adv. Sharfuddeen and Prof. Nazni Begum, Gen. Secretaries Elyas Muhammad Thumbe, Afsar Pasha, Mohammad Shafi, Secretaries Abdul Majeed Faizy, Yasmin Farooqui, Mohammed Rafiq Jabbar Mulla, Abdul Waris, Treasurer Shahabuddeen and National Working Committee members E. Abubakar, Hafiz Manzoor Ali Khan, Thulasidharan Pallikkal, V.P. Nasruddeen, Yasmin Farouqui, Parvez Bari, Adv. Sajid Siddiqui, Dahlan Baqavi, Dr. Mahboob Shareef Awad, Taedul Islam, Mohammad Nizam, Abdul Hameed Ramnad, Abdul Sathar, Aftab Alam, Abdul Hannan, Abdul Latheef, Abdul Majeed Kodlipet, Sadiq Qureshi, Ashfaque Hussain, Habibulla and Syed Ifteyaz were present in the meeting.