24 Dec 2013 / BANGALORE:
It’s the very first time in Madikeri that the Social Democratic Party of India-SDPI contested in 8 wards, won 4 of them and would play a decisive role in the Municipality administration.
The Congress which succeeded in securing 10 seats requires 4 seats to form the council and after the MLA, & MLCs each vote the total would be 12 and still it would require 2 more seats for the purpose.
The BJP which finished in 2nd place got 8 seats and after 1 MLAs vote the total count would be 9. People have taught the tit-for-tat lesson to the BJP as in the previous term it had set high record in corruption.
The Social Democratic Party of India-SDPI emerged as the third largest party securing 4 seats. SDPI candidate Nafees Abdullah of ward no. 6 lost just by 5 votes and Haseena Nooruddin of ward no. 3 lost by mere 23 votes. SDPI contested in 8 seats, won in 4 wards, secured 2nd position in 3 wards and 4th position in 1 ward.
Details of Winning Candidates in the Madikeri CMC Election


Ward No Winning Candidate



Smt. Neema Arshad



K G Peter



Advocate Ameen Mohsin



Mansoor Ali